Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




[C:Chaos Daemons] Plague Zombie Horde (Combat Patrol)

Post your army lists here!

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:53 pm

killmaimburn wrote:Penitents are WS4, you are ws 3...

ahh, thats where i went wrong. i assumed WS3. :oops:

still, i would hope to draw the Engines away from eachother (they both have to charge closest, so if i put one unit on each side they must split up).

killmaimburn wrote:And thats whilst the other 240 points are shooting at your boys cowering at the back :D

well the Priest takes care of a chunk of that, and reduces shooting too (count as moving). its probably just going to be Storm Troopers with maybe a Transport. worst thing would probably be a few Plasma Guns (some of which would just have a 12" range).

if i can draw the Engines apart i can DS into the gap between them and get stuck into CC with the rest of my force.

i think i could pull it off, with a bit of luck, and maybe get a Draw. it would at least be fun to try. :)

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:52 pm

bump, as something weird has happened and the thread has dissapeared (i think its to do with me deleting the last post...)

~ Tim
(AoS Mod)
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby Ljundhammer » Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:12 pm

LordMalekTheRedKnight wrote:
killmaimburn wrote:Actually i think me and ljundhammer managed to work out a way of getting 3-4 into a (baby :P ) CP list as its mandatory unit isn't required by CP rules etc..

hmm, i wouldnt have interepreted it that way... personally i would never consider taking Arcos/Penitent Engines without a Priest (or an Assassin w/out an Inq).


Why not? The Kill Team rules give the example that an IG Iron Fist squad can be taken without an IG platoon. The only way to get an Iron Fist squad in the IG codex is to take a platoon. Surely this is exactly the same for penitients & arcos?
User avatar
Ljundhammer
Brother-Captain
Brother-Captain
 
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham - the North

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:22 pm

Ljundhammer wrote:Why not? The Kill Team rules give the example that an IG Iron Fist squad can be taken without an IG platoon. The only way to get an Iron Fist squad in the IG codex is to take a platoon.

i took that as an "opponent's permission" type exception (its vague and leaves it up to the players to decide what is "reasonable"). when building an all-comers/pickup list, i wouldnt personally take an Armoured Fist without an Infantry Platoon (not that it really matters in 5th ed, as even dedicated Transports can have other units in them).

when i use IG in CP i usually buy a Chimera for the Infantry Platoon Command Squad (either giving them Plasma Guns and putting them in it, or hiding them at the back with a Mortar and running it empty (4th ed)).

Ljundhammer wrote:Surely this is exactly the same for penitients & arcos?

well, maybe not exactly the same - it depends on whether Penitents and Arcos are seen as units typically used to carry out patrols (which is the justification for the exception on Armoured Fists).

the CP rules dont say we can ignore every restriction by default, so i tend to play it safe. just my own personal interpretation, though. :)

cheers

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby ruffian4 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:41 am

Hey, Tim, have you seen this?

http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=160036

Some nice ideas in there.
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:52 am

i hadnt actually, cheers mate!

im going to save the list and the link, and have a proper read later, but it looks good so far. especially like the tunnel entrances...

cheers :)

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Previous



Return to 40K Army Lists




 Social Links