Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Q&As - GW - Scions of Mars Terminator Armour query

For posting responses from GW or FW about rules queries

Q&As - GW - Scions of Mars Terminator Armour query

Postby Spack » Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:15 pm

This is a messy one. The wording of Scions of Mars suggests single wound models with access to the armoury can't take Terminator Armour, but the wargear rules don't say this. The answer I got from the "roolzboyz" is not particularly good, and makes it even more confusing, but here it is.

Question:

The text for the trait "Scion of Mars" implies that unless this is taken, 1 wound models cannot take Terminator Armour ("This does mean that single wound models can be given Terminator armour"). Should Terminator Armour be listed at a cost of 25/- in the armoury to prevent it being taken normally by vet sergeants, apothecaries, standard bearers, etc? If not, why was that sentence added to "Scion of Mars" as it does not appear necessary.


Answer:

Cheers for the email, let me explain it is a little complicated. The Scions of Mars lets characters such as Veteran Sergeants have Terminator Armour who couldn't normally have it. The point in having the second points cost is that normally those characters need to buy Terminator Honours and so will not be able to have Terminator Armour because you cannot duplicate the same item of Wargear.


Now, this response introduces another problem - Scion of Mars doesn't say that it overrides the wargear duplication issue this answer creates. So I sent a followup:

I know I received this reply a month ago, but the subject has come up again and someone pointed out that this answer is itself flawed as even with Scion of Mars you'd still end up duplicating Terminator Honours if you took Terminator Armour on single wound models as you still have to take TH to access the armoury - SoM doesn't allow direct access to the armoury for single wound models.

So, discussion has come up with 3 possible outcomes so far - any chance this can be fed back to the development team to find out which is actually correct?

(a) Terminator Armour should be 25/- to prevent single wound models taking it (as apparently shown in the French printing of the codex).

(b) Scion of Mars text is incorrect and single wound models could already take TA, albeit for 25 pts instead of 15pts, and the text removal was missed from final editing.

(c) Scion of Mars text should include text "overrides wargear duplication rule", and Wargear page should have note that Terminator Armour counts as a duplicate of Terminator Honours (atm there's just the reference in the TA description that it includes TH, but there's no actual rule saying TA can't be taken if you have TH).

Option (a) looks the most likely, backed up by the French print run of the codex, but without an FAQ (even just a post from Pete Haines in the 40K forum would be better than nothing) I guess this isn't going to be resolved.


And here's the response (I was hoping for 25/- is the right answer, but you can't have everything).

Normally you don't need the /- because he can't duplicate the Terminator Honours but the Scions of Mars specifically states that he can wear it at 15 points. I would presume this new points value represents the
terminator armour without the honours because he had to buy those to become a veteran in the first place.

So I think your option c would be closest to the right answer.


And there you have it. Instead of the simple 25/- solution (which it appears the French editorial team added realising there was a mistake somewhere and that it fit the SoM trait text) we get a clumsy solution.
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6733
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby Corianis » Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:39 pm

It is simply an oversight on the part of the Codex Author.
Expect the next SM FAQ to disallow Terminator Armour on non-Scions Sergeants. Most, if not all, Tournaments will already have this as part of their Tournament Specific Rules.
User avatar
Corianis
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:00 am

Postby Spack » Sat Jul 23, 2005 10:05 am

Oh, I agree, but the simplest solution is to make Terminator Armour 25/-. It fixes everything simply without messing around dealing with whether duplication of Terminator Honours is allowed or not.
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6733
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)




Return to 40K GW/FW Unofficial Rulings




 Social Links