Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Q&As - GW - Whirlwind with Power of the Machine Spirit

For posting responses from GW or FW about rules queries

Q&As - GW - Whirlwind with Power of the Machine Spirit

Postby Spack » Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:17 pm

Question:

Does Power of the Machine Spirit allow a Whirlwind to fire it's launcher when it has moved? Page 32 of the rulebook states that ordnance barrage may never fire when moved, but PotMS seems to imply that it might be able to, although it's vague (does "in addition to" mean that it already has to be able to fire a weapon?).

Does Power of the Machine Spirit allow a Whirlwind to fire it's launcher when it is stunned/shaken? In this case it has not moved so the rule on P32 isn't broken.


Answer:

As per the rules on page 25 of Codex Space Marines the Machine Spirit will allow you to move forward if you suffer crew stunned result.
The Machine Spirit can also operate one weapon per turn as long as the vehicle has not moved further than 6".
The stipulation to firing the Whirlwind is that it does not move.
This is the first rule of the Whirlwind firing. This means that if it moves then you cannot fire the ordinance barrage. Having the Machine Spirit makes no difference.

However the Machine Spirit directly says in it's rules on page 25 of the Space Marine codex that even if the vehicle suffers crew shaken/stunned then the Machine Spirit may still fire a weapon. As it has not moved then it can fire the ordinance barrage.
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6750
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)



Return to 40K GW/FW Unofficial Rulings




 Social Links