Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




New FAQS hit the floor

News and rumours

New FAQS hit the floor

Postby killmaimburn » Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:33 pm

http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/conte ... tid=403519

Apparently they fix some of the slannesshy moans..Haven't read em yet, lets all update and comment as we find gems. :mrgreen:

THE PINK BITS IN THE BGB FAQ (gosh thats a chunk, quick glimpse=obvious's)
Page 43 – Special Rules, Vector Strike.
Change the second paragraph to read “When Swooping, this
model may savage its prey. At the end of the Movement Phase,
nominate one unengaged enemy unit the model has moved
over that turn. This unit may even be an enemy Flyer. That unit
takes D3+1 hits, resolved at the model’s unmodified Strength
and AP3, using Random Allocation. Against vehicles, these hits
are resolved against the target’s side armour. No cover saves are
allowed against these hits.”

Page 80 – Transports, Transports and Assaults.
Change the first sentence to read “If a Transport vehicle is
assaulted, an embarked unit can fire Overwatch at the attackers
out of its Fire Points – note that a unit may still only fire
Overwatch once in a turn, even if it is embarked on a
Transport.”

Q: When making Snap Shots, do weapons with a special rule or
effect that only applies on To Hit rolls of a 6 retain these abilities?
For example Necron Tesla weapons? (p13)
A: Yes.

Q: If a model has a special rule or ability that allows it to re-roll one
or more of its dice when determining charge distance (for example
Fleet), and that model charges through difficult terrain, does it roll
three dice, re-roll any desired, then remove the highest roll? (p22)
A: Yes.
Q: If a unit has the Fearless special rule applied to them while they
have Gone to Ground, are the effects of Go to Ground immediately
cancelled (for example, if this were to occur at the start of their turn
could those units then move, shoot etc. as normal in the appropriate
phases?) (p35)
A: Yes.
Q: If an attack with the Rending special rule rolls a 6 for their
Armour Penetration roll against a vehicle and subsequently scores a
Penetrating Hit, does that hit count as being AP2 as it would if the
attack rolled a 6 To Wound? (p41)
A: No.
Q: Can a Flyer or Flying Monstrous Creature Leave Combat
Airspace on the same turn that it entered play from
Reserves/Ongoing Reserves? (p49/81)
A: No – the owning player must deploy and move their Flyer
or Flying Monstrous Creature in such a way that this does
not happen.
Q: In assault, what comes first – Feel No Pain rolls or the roll to
activate a Force weapon? (p37)
A: The roll to activate a Force Weapon is made before
determining whether or not the victim is permitted a Feel
No Pain roll.
Q: Can a Vector Strike be made against Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creatures? (p43)
A: Yes.
Q: Can a Flyer or Flying Monstrous Creature Leave Combat
Airspace on the same turn that it entered play from
Reserves/Ongoing Reserves? (p49/81)
A: No – the owning player must deploy and move their Flyer
or Flying Monstrous Creature in such a way that this does
not happen.
Q: If a model with Defensive Grenades is part of or joins a unit
who do not have Defensive Grenades, for example a Grey Knight
Grand Master with blind grenades, does the unit they join benefit
from the effects of their Defensive Grenades? (p62)
A: Yes.
Q: Do models in a multiple Toughness value unit who are involved
in a Challenge still use the majority Toughness of their unit? (p64)
A: No, they use their own Toughness value.
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Q: Can a model with the ability to repair Hull Points or
Immobilised/Weapon Destroyed results from the Vehicle Damage
Table use this ability on Zooming Flyers? (p80)
A: No.

Q: Can the rider of a Chariot that is also a Skimmer make Sweep
Attacks against Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creatures? (p82).
A: No.
Q: If a Chariot is in combat with an enemy unit, can models from
that unit direct attacks against the chariot itself? (p82)
A: Yes.
Q: If a Chariot is Wrecked or suffers an Explodes! result in close
combat, does the rider remain locked in combat with the unit they
were fighting? (p82)
A: No, they perform an Emergency Disembarkation.

Q: Some units have rules that mean their selection permits other
units from that detachment to be selected as if they belonged to
different parts of their Codex army list (Heavy Support choices
chosen as Troops for example). If such a permissive unit is killed, do
these rules immediately cease to apply (e.g. units chosen as Troops
that were not Troops originally cease to count as such and so cannot
be Scoring units, or worse become illedgal units due to excess choices
from one or more sections of the army list)? (p109)
A: No.

Q: If your Warlor’s Warlord Trait confers a specific ability to a unit
or units in your army, is this ability always immediately lost when
the Warlord is killed? (p111)
A: Yes. Further, if the Warlord Trait conferred a special rule
that allows an unusual method of deployment from Reserves
(such as conferring Infiltrate to allow a unit to Outflank)
that special rule is immediately lost and the unit must deploy
from Reserves in the normal fashion.

Q: Can models from an Allied Detachment that have the ability to
repair Hull Points or Immobilised/Weapon Destroyed results from
the Vehicle Damage Table use this ability on Allied vehicles? (p112)
A: No.

Q: If a unit of models that are Psykers and armed with force
weapons are affected by the You! You’re a Traitor! result of the
Hallucination psychic power from the Telepathy discipline, does
this force them to spend warp charge points (if they have any
available) and activate their force weapons for the hits they inflict
upon their own unit? (Reference section).
A: Yes.

>>>Quit hitting yourself, Quit hitting yourself, Quit hitting yourself..Now hand over your lunchwarpcharge!!

Q: When making a Shooting attack against a unit, can Wounds
from the Wound Pool be allocated to models that were not within
range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made (i.e.
half the targeted model are in the shooting models’ range, and half
are not)? (p15)
A: No.

Plus some fixes to the reference section

Dark angels First glance= is options that proofreading geeks corrected(cough glad I didn't buy the first run, cough cough)
Page 32, 94 – Techmarines/Techmarine.
Add Boltgun to wargear.

Page 53/93 – Azrael Warlord Trait.
Change this entry to “If Azrael is in your primary detachment,
he must be your Warlord. He can choose any of the Dark
Angels Warlord Traits on page 28 (there is no need to roll)”.

Page 60 – Plasma Talon.
Add “Rapid Fire” to the weapon’s Type.

Page 61 – Stasis Bomb weapon special rules.
Add “Bomb”: The rules for Bombing Runs are found in the
Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Page 63 – Displacer field, rules.
Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to: “If the
scatter causes the bearer to arrive on top, or within 1” of
another model or impassable terrain, alter the scatter by the
minimum amount possible (in any direction) to prevent this”.

Page 92 – Azrael, Wargear.
Add “• bolt pistol” to Azrael’s wargear.
Page 92 – Belial, Wargear.
Add “• Iron Halo” to Belial’s wargear.

Page 95 – Deathwing Command Squad, options.
Change the second bullet point to: “• One Deathwing
Terminator in the army may be upgraded to the Deathwing
Champion, replacing all their weapons with the Halberd of
Caliban...............................................................................5 pts”.

Page 96 – Ravenwing Command Squad, options.
Change the first bullet point to:
“• One Ravenwing Black Knight may take a banner from the
following list:
- Ravenwing Company Banner*...........................................15 pts”
- Revered Standard................................................................25 pts”
- Alternatively, the may take a banner from the Sacred
Standards section of the wargear list.”
WARHAMMER 40,000: DARK ANGELS 2

Page 98 – Company Veteran Squad, wargear.
Replace the first four options with:
“• May include up to five additional Veterans ....18 pts/ model
• Any model may replace his boltgun or
bolt pistol with a chainsword ....................................................free
• Any model may replace his boltgun with one of the following:
- Storm bolter ......................................................... 5 pts/model
- Combi-flamer, -melta or -plasma ...................... .10 pts/model
- Power weapon, lightning claw or plasma pistol 15 pts/model
- Power fist ............................................................. 25 pts/model
- Pair of lightning claws ........................................ 30 pts/model
• Any model may take:
- Combat shield ...................................................... 5 pts/model
- Melta bombs ......................................................... 5 pts/model
- Storm shield ......................................................... 10 pts/model”

Page 101 – Ravenwing Black Knights, options.
Change the third option here to:
“• The Ravenwing Huntmaster may replace his corvus hammer
with a power sword or power maul...................................12 pts”.

Page 102 – Ravenwing Darkshroud, special rules.
Delete “Stealth” from this list.

Page 102 – Assault Squad, options.
Change the final bullet point to:
“• The entire squad may remove their jump packs, changing
their unit type to Infantry. They may then have a Drop Pod or
Rhino as a Dedicated Transport for free (p100)”.

Page 102 – Nephilim Jetfighter, special rules.
Delete “Missile Lock” from this list

Page 104 – Land Raiders (all), options.
They do not have to be taken as a Dedicated Transport to have
this upgrade, so change the last option for each Land Raider to:
“• May be upgraded to a Deathwing Vehicle (p40).........30 pts”. .
FAQs

Q:What type of weapon is a combat knife? (p97)
A: A combat knife is a close combat weapon. See page 51 in the
Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Q: How many points is Interrogator-Chaplain Seraphicus, from the
special edition Dark Vengeance boxed game?
A: 125 points. Seraphicus is an HQ choice in a Dark Angels
army, and a special character. He is an Interrogator-Chaplain
armed with a plasma pistol, as listed in Codex: Dark Angels. He
replaces the Interrogator-Chaplain’s Zealot special rule with his
own Litanies of the Dark Angels special rule.
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

PostThis post was deleted by killmaimburn on Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:38 pm.

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby Ljundhammer » Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:09 pm

Standard GW proof reading then.

I wouldn't hold your breath that the DA codex will be updated in print form any time soon... That's the whole USP of the digital version.
When in deadly danger
When beset by doubt
Run in little circles
Wave your arms and shout
- parody of the litany of command
User avatar
Ljundhammer
Brother-Captain
Brother-Captain
 
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham - the North

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby markb » Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:05 pm

I got the iBooks version of the DA Codex and I don't know whether it gets updated automatically or what but none of those erratas are in my version.
"The guns have stopped because we are at last about to attack. Even our generals aren't mad enough to shell their own men, they think its far more sporting to let the Germans do it!"

Capt Edmund Blackadder, the Somme, 1917.

Image
User avatar
markb
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:20 pm
Location: On a high plains desert somewhere near Uzbekistan, lets leave it at that
Medals: 1
Painting Entrant (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby killmaimburn » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:14 am

Q: When making a Shooting attack against a unit, can Wounds
from the Wound Pool be allocated to models that were not within
range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made (i.e.
half the targeted model are in the shooting models’ range, and half
are not)? (p15)
A: No.
this bit is filling up other forums with chatter... its not quite long range short range artificial sniping of 4th but it brings back a certain bit of it, and also hammers a nail on the head of the splinter group from the end of 4th ed who dominated 5th with 1inallin.
We were already playing like this but.. if your firing only rapid fire..saves can only be placed on models within 12" (closest to closest first) or be wasted..
If your firing rapid fire weapons and snap shot firing a missile launcher- wounds/saveshave to be made by whomever is closest (LOS etc) even if the first guy dies at 12 and the others are sat at 13..they take saves because A weapon has been fired that could have effected them(and at this point your not distinguishing range anymore so its simply unlocked by range at start)..no waste..

The web are drawing the nice image of the concusive blast of firing the missile launcher makes your bullets go further.
But ,whilst we found it intuititive ..it is a vital tweak to 6th ed.
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby BANE » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:28 am

That example about the middle launcher is incorrect, ML firing snap shots can't fire blasts so must be using krak, therefore it has a different profile to the boltgun caused wounds so the shooting player must declare which group of wounds he wants the defending player to role for first. In this example you would have x wounds from the boltguns and y wound from the ML the boltguns could only kill those within the range of the type of shot fired lets say 12 but the ML could kill a model beyond that range and has a different str and ap value, I would allocate the bolters first if there was limited models within 12 hoping to kill them all then ask for the ML to be saved last to hopefully pin someone at 13+
User avatar
BANE
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby ruffian4 » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:00 am

Its about range when you shoot though and who fires what.
If you have a model firing a long range weapon, it will be in range of all enemy models (say) which according to the faq, makes all models targets for all weapons that were in range of something.
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby Darklighter » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:34 am

I that case you'd just nominate one marine to not rapid fire to gain the extra distance needed.
What, no image sigs!
Darklighter
Shas'vre
Shas'vre
 
Posts: 993
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Redcar
Medals: 19
Gold (3) Silver (2) Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (13)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby BANE » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:16 pm

Correct Nick. Then all the botgun hits, even if fired rapid fire, can now hit models in the target unit upto 24 inches away providing there is at least one model within 12 for the rapid firers to hit.

As per the FAQ its about range for each wound pool, the trick here is not to have longer range weapond cause different types of hits to your rapid firing bolters, so stand still and fire frag say, the rapid firers can now hit models in the target unit upto 48 away as the frag hits and bolter hits go in the same wound pool. Or as Nick points out on the rare occurancies of this been that much of an issue, fire 1 bolter as a single shot.

A follow up question is; can you take LOS saves for character models that are within the maximum range of thr firing unit when the rest of the squad are beyond that maximum range?
User avatar
BANE
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby killmaimburn » Thu Jan 17, 2013 2:11 pm

Yeah sorry about example above.. possibly think bolt pistols was meant to be there instead..Well done one for translating KMb speak successfully though.

On Banes follow up question, which baffled me with LOS (line of sight?)
p16 Not quite rules, more fluff
"This represents the character ducking back further into the unit, holding a comrade in
thefine of fire, orbeing pushed aside byaselfless ally."
Second bullet point says
"• On a roll of 4+,the LookOut, Sir attempt is successful.You must picka model from the same unit within 6"
and resolvethe Wound againstthem instead.This can even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the
Shooting attack.
"

This has been faqed rather lazily..
Change the second sentence of the second bullet point to:
“Determine which model in the unit is closest to the character, and resolve the Wound against that model instead.”

Which gives us..now the current rule of
"• On a roll of 4+,the LookOut, Sir attempt is successful.Determine which model in the unit is closest to the character, and resolve the Wound against that model instead"This can even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the Shooting attack."

So yes it can be someone out of line of sight, its no longer 6"s, it IS the nearest person..So less cheaty shenanigans when you forget to move properly... but also if your sarge gets shot and your already out of coherancy that bloke from 18"s away who is the other guy left gains superhuman speed to run 3 turns worth to take it on the chest for you..
(yes its a tad odd)
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby Baragash » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:18 pm

BANE wrote:As per the FAQ its about range for each wound pool, the trick here is not to have longer range weapond cause different types of hits to your rapid firing bolters, so stand still and fire frag say, the rapid firers can now hit models in the target unit upto 48 away as the frag hits and bolter hits go in the same wound pool. Or as Nick points out on the rare occurancies of this been that much of an issue, fire 1 bolter as a single shot.


Almost no one agrees with that interpretation.
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1886
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby killmaimburn » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:49 am

Baragash wrote:
BANE wrote:As per the FAQ its about range for each wound pool, the trick here is not to have longer range weapond cause different types of hits to your rapid firing bolters, so stand still and fire frag say, the rapid firers can now hit models in the target unit upto 48 away as the frag hits and bolter hits go in the same wound pool. Or as Nick points out on the rare occurancies of this been that much of an issue, fire 1 bolter as a single shot.


Almost no one agrees with that interpretation.
Good save.. sorry i thought ruffian had corrected him,
Your using the wrong terminology Bane, classifying types of weapons as different POOLs.. when this is just "wound allocation"(/ or "subgroups"within a pool to be precise see*).. a pool is..the entire shots from one unit to another.
p14
*
*p14 If there are Wounds with different Strengths, AP values or special rules, keep them separated into groups of Wounds in the pool.If all the Wounds are thesame, theWound pool will consist of only one group(not pool).

p15
Emptied Wound Pool
When the Wound pool is empty, the shooting attack has been completely resolved. Youcan begin your next shooting attack,or
proceed to the Assault phase.

So you can't say I have saved from an ap1 class weapon now all your other weapons are out of range, exactly the opposite, because the ap1 class weapon with 48" range had range..all the 24" weapons who could only hit the front guy can now have their wounds allocated (closest to closest saves mechanism still applying) beyond 24" as it could have been the longer range weapon that hit them(before you pooled them all).

TLDR : All weapons are in 1 pool.

I'm intrigued Bara- are there other ways your seeing forums read it other than the one I'm failing to describe properly?
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby BANE » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:38 am

P15

Mixed Wounds
If, after rolling to wound, the wound pool contains groups of wounds with different strenghts, AP values or special rules, then each of these groups is resolved separately, using the relevant method described above. You, as the shooting player, get to choose the order in which these groups are resolved.
User avatar
BANE
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby Baragash » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:11 am

BANE wrote:P15

Mixed Wounds
If, after rolling to wound, the wound pool contains groups of wounds with different strenghts, AP values or special rules, then each of these groups is resolved separately, using the relevant method described above. You, as the shooting player, get to choose the order in which these groups are resolved.


I don't understand what you're trying to say here, whilst you do resolve the wounds in separate groups there is still only one wound pool, and the FAQ answer is judged on the basis of the wound pool.

@KMB: no the only other interpretation I can recall seeing is the one Bane is going with here, but I haven't seen anyone back it to the hilt.
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1886
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: New FAQS hit the floor

Postby ruffian4 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:21 am

BANE wrote:P15

Mixed Wounds
If, after rolling to wound, the wound pool contains groups of wounds with different strenghts, AP values or special rules, then each of these groups is resolved separately, using the relevant method described above. You, as the shooting player, get to choose the order in which these groups are resolved.

You still only have 1 wound pool though and range is certainly not a special rule.

The most important bit of text is "out of range" p16.
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.




Return to 40K News & Rumours




 Social Links