Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Assaulting through cover

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Assaulting through cover

Postby RotweillerofJustice » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:13 pm

Just quickly off the top of your heads guys.
What are the rules for assaulting through cover? I thought it removed the plus 1 attack for charging but I couldn't find it in the rule book.
So you know. I had ten marines behind a ruined wall with windows and a door and was assaulted by 30 cultists through the wall.
User avatar
RotweillerofJustice
Shas'ui
Shas'ui
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Ferndown
Medals: 6
Silver (1) Painting Entrant (5)

Re: Assaulting through cover

Postby timewizard » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:27 pm

Page 22 of the rulebook, left hand column, third paragraph tells you what initiative step your models get when attacking through cover.

Page 24 of the rulebook, left hand column gives the number of bonus attacks.

The only way to remove the +1 attack is by making a disordered charge, Page 27, right hand column, sixth paragraph.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Assaulting through cover

Postby Darklighter » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:30 pm

timewizard wrote:The only way to remove the +1 attack is by making a disordered charge, Page 27, right hand column, sixth paragraph.


........ Or be Tau.
What, no image sigs!
Darklighter
Shas'el
Shas'el
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:47 pm
Location: Redcar
Medals: 19
Gold (3) Silver (2) Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (13)

Re: Assaulting through cover

Postby RotweillerofJustice » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:54 pm

Now I'm just more confused. Lol.

Ok. Next question your starter for 10. When taking armour saves in close combat do you have to take into account the weapons AP value that just wounded you? So in CC if I'm wounded by a model with a power axe at AP2 my 2+ termie armour save is negated? I know I have a 5+ Inv save.
User avatar
RotweillerofJustice
Shas'ui
Shas'ui
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Ferndown
Medals: 6
Silver (1) Painting Entrant (5)

Re: Assaulting through cover

Postby timewizard » Tue Nov 12, 2013 1:05 am

Yes. Page 26 of the rules. No cover saves can be taken. AP works like in shooting. Invulnerable saves can be taken as normal.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Assaulting through cover

Postby RotweillerofJustice » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:51 am

Cheers. :-)
User avatar
RotweillerofJustice
Shas'ui
Shas'ui
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Ferndown
Medals: 6
Silver (1) Painting Entrant (5)




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links