Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Can You consolidate straight into another combat?

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Can You consolidate straight into another combat?

Postby RotweillerofJustice » Sun Sep 11, 2022 11:38 pm

Hi all,

Had a gaming day yesterday, (Saturday), and a situation arose in a game between two of my my friends where a Skorpekh Lord charged into a trio of characters.

Now initially the Lord charged an apothecary and made very short work of him. But because the apothecary was only about two inches from the Captain, the player with the Lord consolidated him straight into the Captain and fought again. Wiping out the Captain.

Is this allowed? 9th edition rule book isn’t really clear. At least, I couldn’t find a definitive answer.

Thanks in advance.
RotweillerofJustice
Shas'ui
Shas'ui
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Bournemouth
Medals: 6
Silver (1) Painting Entrant (5)

Re: Can You consolidate straight into another combat?

Postby conscriptboris » Tue Oct 04, 2022 10:38 am

He can consolidate into CC with the Captain, but doesnt get to fight again (unless there is some strategem I am unaware of).

All this means, is they are in combat for the start of the Captains turn.

I have the large rulebook;

pg 231 - Consolidate 'each model must finish its consolidation move closer to the closest model' (3 inch move).

pg 224 - Charging with a Unit 'within engagement range'

pg 198 Engagement Range - ;a model is 1" horizontally and 5 " vertically of an enemy model, those models are in engagement range of each other.

And critically; pg 228, 2nd Para "No unit can fight more than once in the fight phase".

Elvis
User avatar
conscriptboris
Elvis isnt Dead!
Commander
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Gibraltar
Medals: 1
Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (3)

Re: Can You consolidate straight into another combat?

Postby RotweillerofJustice » Wed Oct 05, 2022 3:52 pm

Thank you Boris.
RotweillerofJustice
Shas'ui
Shas'ui
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Bournemouth
Medals: 6
Silver (1) Painting Entrant (5)




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links