Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby mortiferum » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:19 am

Imagine an Infantry Platoon which consists of:

Platoon command squad
Infantry squad 1
Infantry squad 2

If I then mount each squad into 3 Valkyries (each Valkyrie is taken from a seperate Fast Attack FOC slot) and then outflank the Valks.

How do I roll for reserves?
User avatar
mortiferum
Justicar
Justicar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:00 am
Location: UK, Oxfordshire

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby killmaimburn » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:38 am

Shooting from hip..
p94 "If they do, the unit and the transport will be rolled for together and will arrive together." You have a non dedicated transport with a unit decalred in rolling together..

You have a special rule that says the platoon is rolled for collectively (so each infantry *unit* (in my mind)).

So platoon says all units (my version) + those units can come on with transports (p94).
So platoon (inc transports)=one roll.
(tag it together with the reroll guy :lol: )
Anything else (more complex)I can't find much support for
:D
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby Baragash » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:41 am

What if it's a squadron of 3 Valkyries, but the units transported are from different platoons......... :wink:

EDIT: agree with KMB on the first bit :)
Last edited by Baragash on Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby mortiferum » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:46 am

Thanks KMB for the rapid reply.

Baragash wrote:What if it's a squadron of 3 Valkyries, but the units transported are from different platoons......... :wink:


A very good follow up question!
User avatar
mortiferum
Justicar
Justicar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:00 am
Location: UK, Oxfordshire

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby killmaimburn » Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:27 pm

There not dedicated.. you can stick anything you like in them(-1 for a platoon unit).
I guess you could create a staggered interweave where you could have all 3 platoons/valk squads all on one roll (with reroll).

Remember the cost of this (in points-anyone sketch ot out?) and also your taking vendettas without vets..your taking basic guard (thats very little weaponry..so your basically just rocking the whole "my valks are scoring").. without being able to combine them due to your deployment method (where gribblies strength lies) Since they are all in there your making worthless the HQ (as no orders can be cast out, or in and nobodies climbing out).
I think there are better reserve surprise lists in the comp points brackets.. but its certainly something to bear in mind I guess :D
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby Culven » Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:38 am

This was debated some time ago on Warseer. Personally, I think that one should roll for each Transport unit, and only drag in the units embarked, ignoring the "the entire platoon arrives at once" bit since it isn't the platoon that is making the roll. Otherwise, one could claim that they can take three platoons of three squads each and three Valkyrie squads, mount one squad from each platoon in each valkyrie squad, and then roll reserves for each of the six "units" (three Valkyrie squads and three Infantry Platoons) with any single successful roll bringing in that unit, triggering the "entire platoon arrives" rule, and create a chain reaction where all of the Valkyries and Embarked units turn up at one time.
Culven
Commander, Catachan XIII "Black Cats"
Pray that a Black Cat never crosses your path.
User avatar
Culven
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:00 am
Location: At a desk working on one of too many projects.

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby Baragash » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:26 am

As a follow up.....

Played on Wednesday and my opponent had 2 LRs.

LR1 had DC in it, the DC also had a Dedicated Rhino.

LR2 had an JP-less AS in it, the AS also had a Dedicated Rhino.

It appears that by RAW 1 roll nets you a Rhino, squad and LR? Thoughts?

As a house rule it would be more reasonable to roll for the Rhinos separately? Thoughts?
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby Culven » Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:18 pm

I think that the "roll for the Transport" approach still works. When rolling for reserves, one should probably roll for the Land Raiders, bringing the embarked units with them, and roll for the Rhinos separately.
Culven
Commander, Catachan XIII "Black Cats"
Pray that a Black Cat never crosses your path.
User avatar
Culven
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:00 am
Location: At a desk working on one of too many projects.

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby Dowjin » Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:23 am

If you have vehicles in a squadron that have different platoons onboard, then if they don't arrive all together on the same side when rolling reserves, you just demonstrated how incompetent of a commander you are. Because now they have to constantly attempt to regain cohesion.

If they cannot regain cohesion with a 6" move then they have to regain it with a 12" move, et cetera to a full 24" inches.

And then after that 24" inch move that pilot is going to radio command asking why in the hell his bird got different coordinates than his wingmen.

Making them next to useless.

Except you can flat out with them until coherency is regained, so perhaps there are margins of usefulness.

But thats the answer R.A.W.
Dowjin
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:16 am

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby Spack » Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:13 am

Welcome to the site - please don't post replies to really old posts, this topic is almost 2 years old!
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6753
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Re: Concerning Infantry Platoons, transports and reserves?

Postby mattjgilbert » Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:25 am

Yes welcom Dowjin - please introduce yourself in the new member forum: new-members/
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links