Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




deathwing assault.

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

deathwing assault.

Postby ruffian4 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:04 am

Argument raging on warseer (26 pages at the mo) :)
Are deathwing assault capable units that choose to do so, exempt from the 50% reserves rule?

No. They are not listed as always or must deep strike, they choose to do it.
Vs.
Yes. The choice to dwa is made before deployment, therefore when the declaring reserves step is reached, they must deep strike.

:)
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby BANE » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:38 am

No. Because> The CHOICE to dwa is made before deployment. So = They are not listed as always or must deep strike, they choose to do it.
User avatar
BANE
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby markb » Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:07 am

I agree with Al, it is a special rule that states you can choose to DWA them and choose what turn they turn up on. It doesn't state that only 50% can turn up in a turn, which iirc it used to say.
"The guns have stopped because we are at last about to attack. Even our generals aren't mad enough to shell their own men, they think its far more sporting to let the Germans do it!"

Capt Edmund Blackadder, the Somme, 1917.

Image
User avatar
markb
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 12:20 pm
Location: On a high plains desert somewhere near Uzbekistan, lets leave it at that
Medals: 1
Painting Entrant (1)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby killmaimburn » Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:22 am

(normal) reserves allocations are worked out when deploying, deploying is the 8th bulletpoint in the game checklist.

Deathwing assualt says "immediately after working out warlord traits" which is bullet point 6.

The problem is no need to roll for reserves=/= isn't the same as are ignored for the following bulletpoint.

So you either have a situation where your newly announcing declaring something in reserve.. that you have already done, so you do it twice.. Or your saying that when something is taken out at the warlord trait stage so its not part of your army when it comes time to prepare for your reserves.

Both are messy.. I slightly favour the latter but its not clear and I've been avoiding the fight since the copies hit retailers :lol:
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby ruffian4 » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:29 pm

There is a "kind of" third way.
Dwa go into reserve out of sequence, if they don't, you can't attach a dwa character (belial).
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby BANE » Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:25 pm

Why cant you attach a IC?????
User avatar
BANE
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby killmaimburn » Mon Jan 28, 2013 5:30 pm

Because you join at DEPLOYMENT, but you reserved before deployment.
The IC didn't set his alarm clock properly and missed the bus, however it should be noted that thisis rulesspeak and almost certainly not how the table plays it.Its just an inbetween of the 2 extremes.
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby BANE » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:56 pm

Common sense says that that is not the intended meaning, master of manoeuvre warlord trait allows your warlord to join a unit during deployment to outflank, you need to be able to go into reserve to use that.

Or are you talking specific DWA????
Last edited by BANE on Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
BANE
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:55 pm
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby KInG » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:40 pm

zzzzzz
www.GamingFigures.com & http://www.AgeofStrife.com 15% off GW models 10% off FoW & GF9 - extra 1% off orders £100+ & 2% off orders £250+ with FREE UK SHIPPING now added
AoS_GF moderator
Image
User avatar
KInG
Archon
Archon
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:00 am
Medals: 2
Painting Entrant (2)

Re: deathwing assault.

Postby Ljundhammer » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:44 pm

I agree with Nige.

On everything.

Except WoT. That's really zzzzzzz
When in deadly danger
When beset by doubt
Run in little circles
Wave your arms and shout
- parody of the litany of command
User avatar
Ljundhammer
Brother-Captain
Brother-Captain
 
Posts: 1563
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham - the North




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links