Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby timewizard » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:29 pm

BANE wrote: Please don't encourage him TW.


Well, you know him better than I, there being some 3,500 miles between us!
I still think it was an interesting "reading" off the rules.
Plus, I've made many a good friend as a result of rules discussions such as this, so I do enjoy them!

And if he ever did try to pull this on you during a game, I agree with your mechanics for the roll off! ;)

@Bara - I thought as much too mate!

See above to Bane. And now that this has been "aired publicly", I doubt very much you'll ever see it attempted.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby Baragash » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:38 pm

This film is obviously rubbish as I'm now debating whether Black Templars use the SM or BT ally matrix line on Dakka. Joining a rules debate on dakka is like being the cup if someone made a film 1000 girls one cup.
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby killmaimburn » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:49 pm

Pass- there is the designers note in BT section within smurfs saying "treat them as smurfs for all legacy rules queries".. but then all the rumour stuff said there was a bit that said they had to still use the old allies matrix.. haven't found which bit that refers to.. post end of argument here when it happens :)
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby KInG » Sat Sep 07, 2013 10:55 pm

"Interesting rules debate we've had on here for sometime"..... Job done. ;)

Let me see if I can't find some more. Lol
www.GamingFigures.com & http://www.AgeofStrife.com 15% off GW models 10% off FoW & GF9 - extra 1% off orders £100+ & 2% off orders £250+ with FREE UK SHIPPING now added
AoS_GF moderator
Image
User avatar
KInG
Archon
Archon
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:00 am
Medals: 2
Painting Entrant (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby Baragash » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:03 pm

killmaimburn wrote:Pass- there is the designers note in BT section within smurfs saying "treat them as smurfs for all legacy rules queries".. but then all the rumour stuff said there was a bit that said they had to still use the old allies matrix.. haven't found which bit that refers to.. post end of argument here when it happens :)


What it specifically says is treat references to "BT" as references to "SM using the BT chapter tactics".

So any rule that currently says "blah blah Black Templars blah blah" is still in effect.

The allies matrix is a bit messier though due to the rules for using the allies matrix.
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby timewizard » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:23 pm

GW made a rules change that made the current rules even messier?

Say it isn't so!
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby BDA » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:47 pm

small point i feel i should make. you disembark once it is wrecked/ goes boom. so it is no longer a assault vehicle at this point....... i guess it is open top now lol :)
User avatar
BDA
Exarch
Exarch
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby Stryder » Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:57 pm

At first i thought this was nige being nige and that it would end quickly but it has brought up the severe lack of proof reading/quality that GW has had with its rules and dexs, because the rule is simple to follow but if you have someone who follows it to the letter they could in theory bend the rules to their needs...
Using this threads example...say nige sticks an DW knights in a land raider and just charges it up hoping that once it gets in range for assault in his next turn he can then proceed to fry his opponents brain when said land raider is destroyed and he goes on explaining where it says that he CANT do what hes planning

Basically more proof reading and clearer wording because you know a topic nige has put up that has 3 pages worth of comments shows somethings wrong
Stryder
Newbie
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:21 am
Blog: View Blog (4)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby timewizard » Sun Sep 08, 2013 12:03 am

BDA wrote:small point i feel i should make. you disembark once it is wrecked/ goes boom. so it is no longer a assault vehicle at this point....... i guess it is open top now lol :)


And on page 82, last paragraph on the right hand column, "Acting as an ideal attack platform, all Open-topped Transports are Assault Vehicles (see page 33)."

So it's destroyed, it's no longer an assault vehicle, so you can't assault from it, but you're making it open-topped, so it's an assault vehicle so you can assault from it. :D
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby KInG » Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:37 am

And around and around it goes. Where it will stop nobody knows. He he.
www.GamingFigures.com & http://www.AgeofStrife.com 15% off GW models 10% off FoW & GF9 - extra 1% off orders £100+ & 2% off orders £250+ with FREE UK SHIPPING now added
AoS_GF moderator
Image
User avatar
KInG
Archon
Archon
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:00 am
Medals: 2
Painting Entrant (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby timewizard » Sun Sep 08, 2013 2:51 am

You're enjoying this waaaay too much KInG! :twisted:
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby mattjgilbert » Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:16 am

Do destroyed vehicles no longer become wrecks? If they do, wrecks don't have open topped, assault or any other kind of vehicle rule.

I seriously doubt assaulting in your opponents turn like this is intentional. If it was they'd have made a point of telling everyone about the "cool new change" in the way the rules play when 6th ed came out and people would already know about it.
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby ruffian4 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:33 am

Why is it necessary to mention the destroyed allowance then, because you are still disembarking from something.
If the assault vehicle stopped being that if it is destroyed, you wouldn't be able to assault from wreckage, because you disembarked, so it remains an assault vehicle (at least temporarily) beyond destruction, for this purpose. Its a wreck that retains a rule.

The unit can assault on the (player) turn its transport is destroyed.
It kind of reminds me of ig orders working in "the" shooting phase.
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby timewizard » Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:53 pm

I was giving BDA a rather tongue-in-cheek response to his post. Of course a wreck is not open topped. It is a wreck.

I agree with Matt that if this was intentional, and if it was a tactic that could be used, we would have heard of it long before this.

This is an interesting interpretation of the rules, and a spirited academic discussion. But not really a viable tactic. As I had said in a previous post, there are too many specifics missing from the assault vehicle special rule to make this work.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Getting assaulted in your own turn??

Postby Angelwing » Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:46 pm

Sorry Nige, no easter egg to be found here. you'll have to find your chocolate cheese fix elsewhere. haha
User avatar
Angelwing
Zoanthrope
Zoanthrope
 
Posts: 2310
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Bridgwater, Somerset
Medals: 17
Gold (5) Silver (1) Painting Entrant (11)

PreviousNext



Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links