Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Postby Spack » Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:55 pm

GW have posted up an article about the Raven Guard here: http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/conte ... ue&start=4

This includes the following snippet:

For his part, Shrike and the Raven's Talon Assault Squad will spearhead the offensive. They have the firepower to menace the enemy if they land within 6", but the expectation is that they will hurl themselves directly into the fight. Bear in mind they can infiltrate thanks to Shrike's See, But Remain Unseen rule.


While it's possible that the article author/player misunderstands something, this is the closest GW have come to a definite "Shrike can infiltrate with a squad that doesn't have infiltrate itself".
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6753
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Re: Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Postby timewizard » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:11 pm

Spack wrote:While it's possible that the article author/player misunderstands something, this is the closest GW have come to a definite "Shrike can infiltrate with a squad that doesn't have infiltrate itself".


It's also backed up by this from the latest Main Rulesbook FAQ;

Q: If an Independent Character is going to begin a game
joined to a unit when should this be done? (p48)
A: You should nominate which Independent Characters are
joining units at the start of deployment before you place
any units on the board. Note that this should be done
before you nominate which units are being held in
Reserve, Deep Strike or are Outflanking etc.

This would mean that Shrike is joined with a squad at the start of deployment giving the squad the infiltrate USR. They would then be deployed at the infiltrate stage.
It also means that you could join Shrike with a squad of assault terminators, infiltrate them, move, run (Shrike gives the army fleet) and assault on the first turn. :twisted:
This also puts to rest the issue Ruffian and I kept bringing up about "when does an IC join a unit at the start of the game?" 8O
There were arguments that you first had to deploy a squad on the board, then place the IC in coherency with it.
This FAQ affirms that the IC and the squad are joined together, then deployed on the board. :mrgreen:
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Postby Spack » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:47 pm

That Q&A is still far too vague - using "nominate" rather than "join" (GW needs to read a dictionary sometime!) doesn't necessarily change anything ;)

So you nominate that Shrike will join unit A, but unless he actually joins unit A before deployment then he still doesn't join them till he is placed in coherency (as per the rulebook), and so doesn't confer Infiltrate to them ... back to square 1!
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6753
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Re: Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Postby timewizard » Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:13 pm

Spack wrote: That Q&A is still far too vague - using "nominate" rather than "join" (GW needs to read a dictionary sometime!) doesn't necessarily change anything ;)

It does say to nominate which independent characters "...are joining units at the start of deployment..." which seem pretty clear that when you are getting your forces ready to deploy, you form up your units, decide which are going into reserve, which will infiltrate (if they can) and what units and ics might be deploying in any dedicated transports.

Spack wrote:So you nominate that Shrike will join unit A, but unless he actually joins unit A before deployment then he still doesn't join them till he is placed in coherency (as per the rulebook), and so doesn't confer Infiltrate to them ... back to square 1!

I nominate that Shrike is joining unit A at the start of deployment. At that point, Shrike and unit A are 1 unit and Shrike's special rule allows Shrike and his squad (unit) to infiltrate or if placed in reserve to outflank.
Same as joining a chaplain with an assault squad, they are now 1 unit and are deployed on the board at the same time.
The requirement that they be deployed in coherency is no different than any other unit and just ensures that you don't place the IC more than 2" away from the unit.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Postby ruffian4 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:12 am

Yeah, I think that the "at the start of the game" joining thing was a myth.
Transport vehicles + unit + ic deploying during army deployment should have been enough.
killmaimburn wrote:If this is a masked ball, then the other bits of him are off spiking the teachers punch.


DEATH WATCH DEATH RATTLE DEATHS DOOR AINT I DIED ENOUGH BEFORE?
User avatar
ruffian4
4th dan imbecile
Sorceror
 
Posts: 3065
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Twat hq.

Re: Shrike + squad infiltrating - GW confirms?

Postby Spack » Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:14 pm

Hmm, I'd taken it to be nominating at the start of deployment, as opposed to joining at the start of deployment, but I guess that's just the way my brain interpreted that grammar of that sentence. Doh!
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6753
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links