Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Tau Tactics

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Tau Tactics

Postby thesignaller » Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:56 pm

We have a rules discussion going on, can anyone help?

I have been told that a TAU Battlesuit can move out of cover, fire and move back into cover in the same turn.

Is this possible? :?
Only reason i can think is a run move BUT as far as I know you run OR shoot.

Thanks
thesignaller
Guardian
Guardian
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: Tau Tactics

Postby Iceman99 » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:14 pm

Hi

Yes you can, you can move out of cover, shoot and then in the assault phase jump back 2x D6, not sure if you have to make a dangerous terrain roll tho, dont have the rule book to hand, this is the Tau rule for jet packs, they work in a similar way to Eldar Warp Spiders
[i]"For the Greater Good..............and a good ol' cuppa tea!![i]
User avatar
Iceman99
Shas'ui
Shas'ui
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Tau Tactics

Postby thesignaller » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:49 pm

Thanks for the reply, would this also count if they moved passed a unit of (say) Kroot and then back to let the Kroot take the shooting damage.
thesignaller
Guardian
Guardian
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: Tau Tactics

Postby thesignaller » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:49 pm

Thanks for the reply, would this also count if they moved passed a unit of (say) Kroot and then back to let the Kroot take the shooting damage.
thesignaller
Guardian
Guardian
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: Tau Tactics

Postby thesignaller » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:57 pm

Also, do jey pack unite move normally as jumo 12" or roll the 2D6" in normal move.

Thanks
thesignaller
Guardian
Guardian
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: Tau Tactics

Postby killmaimburn » Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:25 am

thesignaller wrote:Thanks for the reply, would this also count if they moved passed a unit of (say) Kroot and then back to let the Kroot take the shooting damage.

Yes although if you can draw line of sight to them again remember in 6th ed this has dropped from a 4+ cover save to a 5+, and remember this isn't 4th ed, you don't need to pass a target priority test or anything to shoot anyone hiding behind stuff.. you just need to be able to see people to kill them. (6th ed rulebook)

thesignaller wrote:Also, do jey pack unite move normally as jumo 12" or roll the 2D6" in normal move.
Thanks
In the normal move they are [oooh hang on a tick]..
Ok this is general knowledge on p47 of the rulebook unit types (see thrust and jetpacks)
It appears you either move as your "unit type"??? or engage your superjohnnyrocket pants.And TBH I can't remember what the basic unit type of a suit is without jetpacks [goes off for 6 minutes].. ah they are infantry [jetpack](FAQ).
So they either move as regular infantry, or engage their rocketpants.
You following? this is where it gets messy.
Beginning "Jet Pack units can move as normal models of their type or activate their jet packs."
End "When Jet Pack units move in the Assault phase and do not charge, they move just as they would when using their jet packs in the Movement phase."
Middle "A Jet Pack unit that is not locked in combat or charging can move up to 2D6" in the Assault phase, even if..yadayada yada]"
So for simplicity's sake we'll assume the Or is inclusive ( :wink: ).. then you have the flowchart that In assault-moves are just like move-moves.. assault-moves are 2d6, so when it says in your assault-move move just like you did in your move-move, we can reverse that and say you move in your move-move just as described in the assault-move-move
In Algebraic terms they give the wrong half of the equation for all their sentences..So I'm still a little lost.
(Edit..update -interesting dakka thread where they after a lot of tooing and frooing just settle on 6" in movement phase http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/po ... 61457.page Dakka says neither it says 6"s)

(but go easy on tau, with the loss of fish of fury and reserves shenanigans all they really have is stealthy pants transports, suicide religious icons and suit heavy JSJ..poor boys really don't exist on the power spiral)
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links