Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Witch Hunters - does anyone have a second printing?

Discussion of rules in Warhammer 40K - use for existing rules only, for discussing new rules or changes/alternatives use the Rules Development forum

Moderator: mattjgilbert

Witch Hunters - does anyone have a second printing?

Postby Spack » Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:19 am

Does anyone here have the second printing of the WH codex? If so, can you check if Karamazov has a twin-linked multi-melta, and WS 5?
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6798
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Re: Witch Hunters - does anyone have a second printing?

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Tue Jun 10, 2008 8:45 am

Spack wrote:Does anyone here have the second printing of the WH codex?

im not sure what printing mine is, although i didnt buy it when it first came out.

Spack wrote:If so, can you check if Karamazov has a twin-linked multi-melta, and WS 5?

mine lists him as WS 4 and without Twin-linking. however, it says he has a Gun Servitor, which is a Warrior Henchman so would add +1WS (dont know why his WS isnt listed as 4(5) like his BS & I...), and that his Lexmechanic counts as 2 Sages, so he gets to reroll 1 shot a turn, which would make Twin-linking his (1-shot) MM redundant anyway. :P

hope that helps :)

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby Culven » Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:51 pm

It sounds like the second printing did add the bonuses for the other things to his stats and rules. I think it is better than saying that he has a Warrior and two Sages, since this would also lead to the questions "Does that mean that he benefits from the Henchmen's special rules AND has the Sages' las pistols to shoot with as well?"
Culven
Commander, Catachan XIII "Black Cats"
Pray that a Black Cat never crosses your path.
User avatar
Culven
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:00 am
Location: At a desk working on one of too many projects.

Postby Spack » Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:23 pm

It's related to this: http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2687347

See, if the second edition has the MM as twin linked, that covers why it doesn't mention the re-roll for the Sages, and it might also have the WS as 4(5) for the Gun Servitor. As I don't have access to a second printing to check I can't verify is the reference to the MM being twin-linked in post #10.
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6798
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:44 pm

well with the "no rerolling a reroll" rule, the end result is the same either way, right?

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby jlong05 » Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:45 pm

Checked my copy(Unknown of its printing though as it doesn't say - I assume it is first) and his stats do not say Twin-linked and he has a WS of 4.
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.

Image
User avatar
jlong05
Master Jedi
Commander
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Arizona, USA (In a Lead Lined Fridge)
Medals: 2
Painting Entrant (2)

Postby Culven » Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:10 pm

Typically, a second or subsequent printing will state "Second Printing" on the first page along with the author, copyright, etc. information.
Culven
Commander, Catachan XIII "Black Cats"
Pray that a Black Cat never crosses your path.
User avatar
Culven
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 12:00 am
Location: At a desk working on one of too many projects.

Postby HOBO » Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:53 pm

Culven wrote:Typically, a second or subsequent printing will state "Second Printing" on the first page along with the author, copyright, etc. information.


I looked up Spack's query in my book as I onlt bought the book like 3 years ago, but it doesn't have "second Printing" on it, and the stats are the same as Lord Malek stated.

I would have thought my Codex would be the newer one, but aw well.
Just wait for the REAL Apocalypse.
Then you'll see SHOCK & AWE.
Amen!
User avatar
HOBO
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Oz




Return to 40K Rules




 Social Links