Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

6.45pm Monday - Downley community centre, School close, Downley HP13 5TR

Moderators: Jimster, BigJim

Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby DaBoss » Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:13 pm

When I heard that Forge World had compiled a new edition of the Imperial Armour Apocalypse book, I did think twice about buying it - but as they released info on what was in it - I knew | was going to have to have it...

So first glance - theirs something for everyones army (except Sisters as usual), lots of new shiny things and lots of updated rules for others; as they explain in the Introduction, they have listened to feedback from players and brought things in line with WKH40K 5th Edition.

One of the nice things is that even though the book is called 'Apocalypse' they have added 'Classifactions':
1. Warhammer 40,000 Apocalypse Unit - for games of Apocalypse and larger games of WH40K with agreement between players.
2. Warhammer 40,000 Apocalypse Formation - only for games of Apocalypse
3. Warhammer 40,000 Unit - intended for use in 'standard' games of WH40K adhering to usual limitations and organisation charts. But should be considered 'official', just make sure your opponent is happy to play against Forgeworld models as they may not know the models rules.

Will be interesting to see if this 'official' is reflected in Tournaments?

So what cought my eye so far in the book - lets check out the rules for two of the models I have from Forgeworld.

Lucius Pattern Dreadnought Drop Pod (WH40K Allowed)- Still only 65pts to transport your Dreadnought to the surface; note - it can transport all types of dreadnought, assume that includes Comtemptor class.
Still counts as an Assault Vehicle which allows a Dreadnought to assault on landing but now they will have to take a 'Dangerous Terrain Test'!!! So guess you roll a d6 on a 1 your dreadnought immobilises itself as it emerges and fails to make combat.
Nice addition - not an auto-win, plus reading the details it has to be purchased as a separate Fast Attack selection.

Dreadclaw (WH40K Allowed) - Again is bought as a Fast Attack selection in a Chaos Space Marine army. Rules are much clearer now, it must be allocated a Unit to transport (none of this empty Drop Pod transport sillyness), they are placed in Reserve and follow the normal rules for Deep-strike. Unlike Drop Pods, if it scatters and lands on things and has to roll on the 'Deep Strike Mishap chart', you may re-roll the result.
Once it lands, the transported unit deploys within 2" like normal deep strike (no assaulting from it anymore :cry: )
In following turns it can then move normally, type defined as Skimmer for WH40K and Flyer/Hover mode for Apocalypse.
In the fluff text it even says the Dreadclaw can be used for extraction of troops. I see a nice special mission for a friendly game around this.

So as to new shiny stuff
Crassus Armoured Assault Transport - nice super heavy transport, why not take a Gorgon? the Crassus has an Overdrive engine which allows it to move 12" than the normal 6" for super heavies and costs 250pts than 400pts and is fully enclosed than the open top Gorgon. downside can only carry 35 infantry but can carry more than 1 squad - interesting

Contemptor Pattern Dreadnought - now this is definately on my Xmas list, 4 different ones listed
Standard - 1 weapon - 1 fist
Blood Angel - 2 fists
Space Wolf - additional Saga's
Mortis Pattern - 2 weapon arms - anyone fancy a bit of double Kheres Pattern Assault Cannon :twisted:

Finally before I go back to reading the book
Lifta-droppa Wagon - been corrected, you now need to roll a d6 to hit (no auto hit anymore), 4+ to succeed while roll a 1 and have to roll on the Lifta-droppa mishaps table.
I assume that the Stompa version does not have this problem :?:
User avatar
DaBoss
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe
Blog: View Blog (43)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby Baragash » Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:24 pm

Thanks :)

Dreadclaw:
1) Does the squad have to disembark on landing?
2) Is it's points still 65?
3) Does it list the squads that can use it, and if so have they added Havocs to the list?
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby DaBoss » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:17 pm

Baragash wrote:Thanks :)

Dreadclaw:
1) Does the squad have to disembark on landing?
2) Is it's points still 65?
3) Does it list the squads that can use it, and if so have they added Havocs to the list?


1) it says 'In practice passengers can disembark at ground level within 2" of the hull. So it all hinges on the 'can'.
2) Yes
3) Yet mentions under capacity of 10 or transport a single Dreadnought

On the Dreadclaw Talon Apocalypse Formation mentions you have to take a unit for each Dreadclaw from: Chosen, Terminators, Possessed, Berserkers, Plague Marines, Noise Marines, Thousand Sons, Chaos Space Marines or a Chaos Dreadnought.
So I would take that as the standard list for WH40K games.

But then again, why not?
User avatar
DaBoss
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe
Blog: View Blog (43)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby Fred » Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:32 pm

can you use the lucius pattern droppod with a contemptor even though it says nothing about the contemptor being able to use a droppod in its entry or have they changed that aswell? If so thats just plain nasty.
User avatar
Fred
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby DaBoss » Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:01 pm

Fred wrote:can you use the lucius pattern droppod with a contemptor even though it says nothing about the contemptor being able to use a droppod in its entry or have they changed that aswell? If so thats just plain nasty.


Yep - it even states that the Lucius can transport a Contemptor Dreadnought, note - Lucius is bought as a Fast Attack choice.
User avatar
DaBoss
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe
Blog: View Blog (43)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby Fred » Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:24 pm

Wow thats very nasty. So on the turn it lands can it still run fleet then assault or do you not get fleet on the turn it lands in a droppod? Not that it would need it i soppose. The droppod should get it close enough.
User avatar
Fred
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby DaBoss » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:58 am

Fred wrote:Wow thats very nasty. So on the turn it lands can it still run fleet then assault or do you not get fleet on the turn it lands in a droppod? Not that it would need it i soppose. The droppod should get it close enough.


Drop Pod landing is in the movement phase, running is in the shooting phase.

Just remember that it will need to take a Dangerous Terrain Test coming out of the Pod if it wants to assault - 1 in 6 chance of being immobilised.
User avatar
DaBoss
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe
Blog: View Blog (43)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby Freddie the fist » Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:33 pm

Ha ha anything but a 1. Don't fancy my chances much lol.
User avatar
Freddie the fist
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Hayes Middlesex

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby TheColonel » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:29 pm

Lucius pods as fast attack choices, makes you really think about wasting the slot when it could be used for something more valuable
"Crom, i've never prayed to you before, i have no tongue for it.
No-one, not even you, will remember if we were good men or bad. Why we fought and why we died.
All that matters is that two stood against many, thats whats important.
Valor pleases you lord Crom so grant me one thing, grant me revenge.
And if you do not listen....then to hell with you!"
User avatar
TheColonel
Exarch
Exarch
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby Baragash » Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:02 am

I hear that the Uber-Daemons got right royally humped by the nerfbat, is this true?
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby killmaimburn » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:21 pm

I've lurked around other places and apparently there it doesn't have half the units included in the first one (needing you to stack them together if you are playing catchup)
also.. apparently some (necron?) have *special rules* that allow you to assault even if you didn't have LOS.. (early creep out of 6th ed..or just FW tottally not knowing their own ruleset and playing too much kings of war?)
Barely even lurking..
ruffian4 wrote:Handy fellow, this kmb...Like Ahriman delving the paths of the webway ...
World of ME First try at Apoc Batrep WHAT/WHO is AOS?
User avatar
killmaimburn
Now Vanus Clade
 
Posts: 6581
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Nottingham, mid-land
Blog: View Blog (1)

Re: Imperial Armour Apocalypse - Second Edition

Postby Baragash » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:45 pm

Both? FW IMO can't write rules for toffee.

Dammit, I'm going to have to order this book sooner rather than later ;)
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)




Return to Armageddon Inc




 Social Links