Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




LOS question

Anything to do with Space Hulk, either the old versions or the recently released new version

LOS question

Postby timewizard » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:11 pm

Have a question for all. In the following diagram;

Image

Where "X" are 2 marines armed with storm bolters, Do they have LOS and are able to shoot genestealers at points;
A? (I believe so, it is in the same room as them)
B? (Don't know, it is down the corridor)
C? (If B is in LOS, then this one should be too)

Thanks for the input.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: LOS question

Postby Spack » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:24 pm

A is a yes, as nothing is blocking the view.

B and C are a no. Page 12 of the rules "If there is a model, wall, or door in any square between the Space Marine and his target then he cannot see it". The corner of the room is wall which blocks LOS.

Had B been 3 squares closer to the room then I'd have said maybe, because that's the square that is the furthest away that either Marine can see without a corner getting in the way (taking a line through the centre of the squares would touch the corner). However, as shown on page 13, had the Marine been at that square and the stealers at X then he would not be able to see them due to the narrowing of the LOS caused by not being in the doorway to the room. For simplicity sake, would it be safer to take the reverse of the Rooms LOS on page 13 as being how looking out of rooms works too? If so, then reversing the models in that pic would have the Marines in the corners and not able to see a stealer next to the red X.

I think in 1st ed it would be a no too - I seem to remember that LOS from centre of model square to centre of target square had to pass through clear squares only, and that even touching a corner was a no.
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6814
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Re: LOS question

Postby timewizard » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:48 pm

So Basically (redrawn image);

Image

A-Yes
B-No
C-No
(and anything between B & C-No)

Keeps it nice and simple.
Thanks Spack.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Re: LOS question

Postby Spack » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:51 pm

Yep, That should cover it. Although you do realise that the bottom Marine is half standing in a wall, don't you? :P
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6814
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Re: LOS question

Postby timewizard » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:52 pm

Ummmmm, Terminator Armor! *cough*!
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)




Return to Space Hulk




 Social Links