Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




New feature: disable signatures and/or avatars

Please post help requests in the Helpdesk forum. This forum is to be used for discussing the site, and events/projects.

New feature: disable signatures and/or avatars

Postby Spack » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:09 pm

A new feature has been added, accessible via the Profile link in the Forum menu (look up). You can now, if you wish disable signatures (the entire sig, or just images in it) or avatars (the graphic at the left under member names) when viewing a topic. This has been done so that members who'd rather read the topics without sigs getting in they way can do so.

A small fix has also been implemented too - font colour and size selection suffered from not being able to apply the same colour or size repeatedly when selecting sections, so a small Apply button has been added to the right of them - so if you want to highlight bits of your post with one colour you no longer have to keep switching the colour selection away from your chosen and back again on the 2nd and subsequent edits, just click Apply for each selection you want to use it.
Dan ~ Age of Strife Admin
My 40k LibraryThing

Image
World of Tanks: WoT Profile AoS Stats ADU Battelogs
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby timewizard » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:24 pm

very nicely done, I like it but hope it doesn't get used out of control :roll:

@ Spack - one question, sometimes I make a mistake cutting and pasting or copying and pasting (I know, I am letting it loose that TW makes mistakes! :oops: ) is there anyway that a 'back' button or arrow could be added to the reply menu? If too much trouble, disregard this suggestion.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Postby Spack » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:33 pm

Press Ctrl+Z, that should be the undo key combination to reverse the last edit you made.

Also, have you noticed the "Copy text to clipboard" button? I think it only works in IE, but it'll let you take a copy of the edit area, handy just before posting in case something goes wrong as you can then just open up a new reply and paste to get the entire message back up.
Dan ~ Age of Strife Admin
My 40k LibraryThing

Image
World of Tanks: WoT Profile AoS Stats ADU Battelogs
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby timewizard » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:49 pm

Yes, I have used "copy to clipboard" in the past. Thanks for the Ctrl-z!
Everything else looking good so far.
Unrelated, how would I post a link, and have it be clickable on the word "link".
On the web site I administer, there is a create/edit link button. How would I do it here?
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Postby Spack » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:54 pm

Type [url=http://...]link[/url] . Put your mouse over the URL button, and it shows you the available syntax. Same for Img.

I could look at adding the more intuitive options found on other sites that use the popups though.
Dan ~ Age of Strife Admin
My 40k LibraryThing

Image
World of Tanks: WoT Profile AoS Stats ADU Battelogs
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:55 pm

timewizard wrote:Unrelated, how would I post a link, and have it be clickable on the word "link".
On the web site I administer, there is a create/edit link button. How would I do it here?

type the word you want to be able to click on like "see here", highlight it, and click URL. e.g. "see [url ]here[/url ]" (but without the spaces).
then, after the first URL, put = and then the link.
e.g. "see [url=http://www.ageofstrife.com ]here[/url ]" (again without the spaces)

e.g. "see here"

hope that helps :)

EDIT: ninja'd by Dan :oops:

~ Tim
Last edited by LordMalekTheRedKnight on Thu Sep 04, 2008 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby timewizard » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:03 pm

Okay, thanks to you both.
Let me test it on you. This is the site from my golf club (well, I don't own it, but I am the secretary and I maintain the web site).
Anyway, if you get a chance, take a look at it here then let me know if I did it right.
TW

EDIT: Holy cow! It worked! Thanks!
Last edited by timewizard on Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Postby Spack » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:33 pm

Oddly enough, clicking the URL button without highlighting does, on my IE7, pop up dialogs asking for the URL and the text to use. It does however require enabling temporary scripted windows in IE (the yellow bar flashes at the top asking if you want it enabled). So, easy solution is to use the URL button without selecting text :)
Last edited by Spack on Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Dan ~ Age of Strife Admin
My 40k LibraryThing

Image
World of Tanks: WoT Profile AoS Stats ADU Battelogs
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:36 pm

Spack wrote:Oddly enough, clicking the URL button without highlighting does, on my IE7, pop up dialogs asking for the URL and the text to use.

:oops: :oops: :oops:

learn something new every day... :roll: :oops:

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Postby Spack » Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:39 pm

LordMalekTheRedKnight wrote:
Spack wrote:Oddly enough, clicking the URL button without highlighting does, on my IE7, pop up dialogs asking for the URL and the text to use.

:oops: :oops: :oops:

learn something new every day... :roll: :oops:


Me too. Looking at the comments in the template it was added by the smilie mod I installed about a year ago, I never even realised it did that and I've been hand entering all the urls ...

I've just enabled the same feature for the Img button - if you click it without selecting any text, it'll pop up a request for the URL to the image.
Dan ~ Age of Strife Admin
My 40k LibraryThing

Image
World of Tanks: WoT Profile AoS Stats ADU Battelogs
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby timewizard » Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:03 pm

Works for me too, but for image posting I just go through photobucket. You can copy and paste the img code right under the picture, and you can even genertate the code for a clickable thumbnail (Spack pointed me in the direction of that one!) and then it's just copy/paste!
"I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire." - Erwin Rommel
User avatar
timewizard
Master of Chronomancy
Field Commander
 
Posts: 5896
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:00 am
Location: (TWAT Colonial Outpost) in the eastern USA
Medals: 11
Gold Wreath (1) Gold (1) Silver Wreath (1) Bronze (2) Painting Entrant (6)
Blog: View Blog (2)

Postby conscriptboris » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:03 pm

this will be good for when i get my mobile broadband PAYG stick, means i dont download as much and my money goes further :D

conscriptboris
User avatar
conscriptboris
Elvis isnt Dead!
Commander
 
Posts: 1534
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Gibraltar
Medals: 1
Painting Entrant (1)

Postby KInG » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:07 pm

noobs, I've been doing that for ages, u can also do ur thumbnails same way...

1. Press Img
2. get the url of the thumbnail and paste it here
3. press Img a 2nd time
4. press Url
5. get the url of the larger image and paste it into 1st pop up window, press ok
6. type, Thumbnail_Here, or similar
7. press Url a 2nd time
8. highlight everything from [img]...to...[/img] and drag it next to Thumbnail_Here and drop it, then delete the words Thumbnail_Here

done... once perfected though and you know where to place the thumbnail u can go without the words to guide u ;)
www.GamingFigures.com & http://www.AgeofStrife.com 15% off GW models 10% off FoW & GF9 - extra 1% off orders £100+ & 2% off orders £250+ with FREE UK SHIPPING now added
AoS_GF moderator
Image
User avatar
KInG
Archon
Archon
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:00 am
Medals: 2
Painting Entrant (2)

Postby Spack » Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:17 am

Noob, to get thumbnails with links from the gallery click the URLs link at bottom and just copy the BBCode, no messing around with multiple links :P
Dan ~ Age of Strife Admin
My 40k LibraryThing

Image
World of Tanks: WoT Profile AoS Stats ADU Battelogs
User avatar
Spack
I R Ginger
Field Marshall
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham, UK
Medals: 2
Bronze (1) Painting Entrant (1)
Blog: View Blog (29)

Postby KInG » Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:18 am

i said I was the noob !! :(

Image

:P

we have you now Luke Skywalker ;)
Last edited by KInG on Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
www.GamingFigures.com & http://www.AgeofStrife.com 15% off GW models 10% off FoW & GF9 - extra 1% off orders £100+ & 2% off orders £250+ with FREE UK SHIPPING now added
AoS_GF moderator
Image
User avatar
KInG
Archon
Archon
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 12:00 am
Medals: 2
Painting Entrant (2)

Next



Return to The Site




 Social Links