Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Base contact

Discussing rules for WFB

Base contact

Postby mattjgilbert » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:00 am

This came up in a game last night, twice in the same multiple combat.

The Hell Pit Abomination has an attack which affects all models in base contact. Plage censor bearers also affect all models in base contact.

How does that work for a chariot or monstrous mount?

Last night the HBA and then a CB were in contact with a steg which has skinks on it. Is the steg the only one affected, do you roll randomly or are all the models (beast and riders) considered to be in base contact?
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK

Re: Base contact

Postby Baragash » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:08 am

Page 7 of the FAQ:

Q. When a model with a Plague Censer causes a
wound on a ridden monster or other model with
separate target-able components, how is the
damage distributed?
A. Take a Toughness test with the best Toughness
value available to the ridden
monster/chariot/multiple statline model and then if
the test is failed, randomise the wound as you
would for a missile hit.

As for the Hellpit, I would suggest (without reading the rules) it inflicts 1 hit distributed as shooting.
My Hobby Blog!
My Painting & Modelling Blog!
Gallery
"The Emperor is obviously not a dictator, he's a couch."
Starbuck: "Why can't we use the starboard launch bays?"
Engineer: "Because it's a gift shop!"
User avatar
Baragash
Sorceror
Sorceror
 
Posts: 1884
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: London, UK
Blog: View Blog (21)

Re: Base contact

Postby lostandthedamned » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:11 am

Yeah while mounted it's a single model. It's the same reason you randomise what gets hit (skink or monster) when a cannon goes through it and why you don't hit both rider and beast when hit by a stone thrower.
When you wish upon a star, your dreams can come true.
Unless it's a meteorite falling to Earth, which will destroy all life, then you're pretty much hosed no matter what you wish for.
Unless it's death by meteorite.
User avatar
lostandthedamned
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Base contact

Postby mattjgilbert » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:26 am

Thanks. Jon said he'd read the rat FAQ but I guess there was so much of it he forgot (we didn't have a copy with us last night).

I suggested the hits were randomised so we probably played it close enough.

Not that it made much difference... Alex lost his Slann and temple guard unit in turn one. Miscast and Jon gets to cast one of his own spells automatically. 13th spell is auto cast and of course Alex fails to dispell it. Bye bye Slann and temple guard. Alex pretty much gave up at that point.

Auto casting of a 25-to-cast spell is just plain wrong. The rules say nothing is more then 15 to cast but of course subsequent army books have changed that. Let's hope it get's fixed in 8th ed ;)
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK




Return to WFB Rules




 Social Links