Login

Username:


Password:


Remember me



Forgot Password?




 Merchandise




Daemons of Chaos

Discussing rules for WFB

Daemons of Chaos

Postby mortiferum » Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:39 am

So, I haven't played Fantasy.... since a very long time ago - (when Fimir and Zoats existed!)

I'm still planning on starting back up since I'm building (slowly) a dual 40K and fantasy daemon list.

I'm reading up the rules on Fantasy and reviewing potential army lists. I'm sure I will encounter many more rules questions to follow.

For now - I only have one...Reading on Warseer tactica thread - some one mentioned that you cant have a GUO join a unit of Plague Bearers, I cant seem to find the rule in the rule book that supports this anyone able to clarify for me?

cheers

Morty

EDIT: Found it! p.30 in [strike]codex [/strike] army book, in the boxed section titled Daemonic Charaters :wink:
Last edited by mortiferum on Sun Mar 15, 2009 12:05 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
mortiferum
Justicar
Justicar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:00 am
Location: UK, Oxfordshire

Postby mattjgilbert » Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:31 pm

Ah those boxed rules...I always miss them too!

I'm also starting a dual collection. I've played a few games in 40K with what I have already and a single game of fantasy. I'ts going to be an experiment in dipping a whole army!

For my fantasy game I took a lord of change. It was my only magic user but it sure packs a punch. I also took a herald of nurlge in with my plague bearers with the banner which makes every wound you score count double for combat resolution. It was pretty nasty. I figured it sounded better than the one allowing rerolls to wound and it worked out really well.
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK

Postby Drax » Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:27 pm

matt, i'd check the wording for your next game - ive not got the army book to hand, but im sure that only wounds caused be poisoned attacks count double

so to me that seems that re-rolls to wound are likely to be the better bet

apologies if i am wrong, but i suppose its worth re-reading to be sure.
User avatar
Drax
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Beverley, East Yorkshire

Postby mattjgilbert » Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:26 pm

You could be right - I might have taken it to mean poisoned weapons...
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK

Postby mortiferum » Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:39 pm

Page - 95.
Icon of Eternal Virulence

"Each unsaved wound caused by this unit's Poisoned Attacks rule adds an extra point of Combat Resolution."

All Plaguebearers and Heralds of Nurgle have posioned attacks, so there isn't a problem, right?
User avatar
mortiferum
Justicar
Justicar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:00 am
Location: UK, Oxfordshire

Postby mattjgilbert » Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:18 pm

That's how I read it.... all attacks but I guess it also says "with the rule" so it might mean only those caused by rolling a 6..?
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK

Postby lostandthedamned » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:20 pm

mattjgilbert wrote:That's how I read it.... all attacks but I guess it also says "with the rule" so it might mean only those caused by rolling a 6..?


This is what I interpreted it as.
If it wasn't then think how underpointed it would be compared to Laurels of Victory from the Empire book at 55pts.

It works out to be about the same effect as 1.5 warbanners. Which is correct for the points. However it could be much better if you can roll a lot of sixes.
When you wish upon a star, your dreams can come true.
Unless it's a meteorite falling to Earth, which will destroy all life, then you're pretty much hosed no matter what you wish for.
Unless it's death by meteorite.
User avatar
lostandthedamned
Veteran Sergeant
Veteran Sergeant
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 12:00 am

Postby Angelwing » Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:56 pm

mattjgilbert wrote:That's how I read it.... all attacks but I guess it also says "with the rule" so it might mean only those caused by rolling a 6..?


I'm quite sure that's the correct way.
User avatar
Angelwing
Zoanthrope
Zoanthrope
 
Posts: 2305
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Bridgwater, Somerset
Medals: 17
Gold (5) Silver (1) Painting Entrant (11)

Postby Cobby » Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:52 pm

I have been using the Daemons in Warhammer for a while and I can not see any rule about Greater Daemons joining units, Like the idea of seeing him surrounded by loads of Plague bearers :) also keep the Icon of Eternal Virulence but combine it with Epidemius. Has won me many a game with just his benenfits on the poison.
User avatar
Cobby
One with No Soul
Shas'la
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Birmingham

Postby Drax » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:07 pm

wounds caused by the poison rule - the poison rule means that the model is wounded by poison on a roll of a 6 (or it can be 4+ with the tallyman rules)

if the model is wounded on a 5 or less then it isn't wounded by a poisoned attack, it is just wounded - thats how i read it.

again, could be wrong on that

EDIT: for the record i actually want to be wrong on this

as for the greater daemons, its in the bestiary section somewhere
Last edited by Drax on Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Drax
Veteran
Veteran
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Beverley, East Yorkshire

Postby LordMalekTheRedKnight » Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:03 pm

mortiferum wrote:"Each unsaved wound caused by this unit's Poisoned Attacks rule adds an extra point of Combat Resolution."

yes, i would say that is different to:
"Each unsaved wound caused by a unit with the Poisoned Attacks rule adds an extra point of Combat Resolution."

~ Tim
8O :D OMG - Im a Dad - of THREE!! :D 8O
:) I am "LMTRK" on The Wizards Community and MTG Salvation
User avatar
LordMalekTheRedKnight
Lord Marmite
Lord General
 
Posts: 4876
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Stamford, Lincs, UK

Re: Daemons of Chaos

Postby thordred » Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:07 am

would it be exceptable for me to use my chaos demons that have been fitted with 40k round bases for warhammer fantasy ? sadly i didnt consider making the bases inter changeable before i built them now im affraid any players i battle will object to them.
thordred
thordred
Warrior
Warrior
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:31 pm

Re: Daemons of Chaos

Postby DaBoss » Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:43 am

thordred wrote:would it be exceptable for me to use my chaos demons that have been fitted with 40k round bases for warhammer fantasy ? sadly i didnt consider making the bases inter changeable before i built them now im affraid any players i battle will object to them.


For friendly games no problem, at tournaments no.

My Daemon army is all based for WH40K (except Greater Daemon and Beasts of Nurgle were on Square bases), but I still took it to the Throne of Skulls tournament; 5 out 6 games no one had a problem with it, then in the final game my opponent complained (after he realised he was losing) and got one of the judges over, who advised me that Fantasy must be played on Square Bases.
I explained to the judge that all the models (except the Flamers) were on movement trays and that I measured all distances from the tray not the model (so fair to both sides), he agreed with this but I had to concede on the Flamers in that the bases were missing the corners and so 4mm of distance.

I was advised that the units would need to be based correctly come the final, As it was I missed the final by 2 places.
Still I'm glad to say the opponent who complained was massacred by me for his troubles.
User avatar
DaBoss
Junior Officer
Junior Officer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:00 am
Location: High Wycombe
Blog: View Blog (43)

Re: Daemons of Chaos

Postby mattjgilbert » Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:24 am

I have a mix of bases but movement trays square up the units for WHFB as DaBoss says so it should be fine. Even in the case of flamers, now in 8th ed skirmishers are in a "fixed" formation so can go on a tray too.
User avatar
mattjgilbert
BladeDancer
Daemon Prince
 
Posts: 5847
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Worthing, UK

Re: Daemons of Chaos

Postby thordred » Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:44 pm

well im still realtively new to the game and plan on any tournaments just yet so hopefully wont bother re basing all just yet . any ideas how to make the bases interchangeable was thinking magnets but never used them before .
thordred
thordred
Warrior
Warrior
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:31 pm

Next



Return to WFB Rules




 Social Links